Call of Duty: The New Era of No Camping

Is it just me, or is there a trend going on in the Call of Duty franchise? It seems that the more the fan base complains about different things that they find annoying in the game, the creators fix it with their own spin. In Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 and Call of Duty: World at War, there was a huge dispute in the fan base over campers. As annoying as these people were, Treyarch and Infinity Ward took their own spin on the topic for a solution. They took a slow team-based game about war and turned it into a fast paced individual game focused on running.

Now, I never used to be any good at Call of Duty whatsoever. My skill level in Modern Warfare 2 had only became that of an outfielder in little league baseball (which I was too, unfortunately) recently which, needless to say, isn’t something to be proud about. My friends would always have to carry me through the match, and I would usually never be the one to come out anywhere near the top of the list. I think that being struck by lightning three times in a row inside a building during a sunny day would be more possible (which did happen to me on Minecraft, somehow). I used to be the one that would take the objective of least importance or told to stay back so I wouldn’t die. Sometimes I didn’t listen and had bursts of confidence, which usually ended in my team raging at me, or them laughing at my demise. Anyway, I was horrible at Modern Warfare 2. This new era of Call of Duty games seem to take that whole sense of a team away from the game. It seems to take away the ability to do bad as well.

Being so frustrated with myself over my incompetence in Call of Duty, and the lack of wanting to play the game, or Xbox, I took a good few months off and played computer games. When I came back to Xbox, the first thing I did was I put in my Black Ops 2 disk and hopped on multiplayer not to expect much from it. What happened? I came top of list… with my Remington shotgun. I couldn’t believe how badly I used to suck for it to wash away so easily over not playing for a few months. I knew that this couldn’t only just be the case.

On last Christmas, my girlfriend had gotten me Advanced Warfare. I was very skeptical of this game when it first game out. I didn’t know about the Exo suits when I first was hearing about the game, so just the premise of a war game focused on soldiers enlisted by commercial companies made me turn away from it. However, now that I have the game, I can see why the game is so popular. Just about every game I play, I end up being within the top 5 players of the match. I realized that this comes from the very nature of eliminating campers and hiding.

The newer era of Call of Duty has somehow learned how to eliminate corners and walls to hide and camp in and along. To me, this is very interesting how such a simple elimination opens up the maps enough to allow for a much more fast pace environment for players to essentially only run-and-gun to survive. Just one small tweak in the layout of maps and suddenly people get more kills, yet also die less. That same tweak also throws teams who work together out the window and creates a complete every man for themselves environment. With integrating the Exo suit abilities in Advanced Warfare, the maps had suddenly swapped from a linear play style to a rapidly changing dynamic environment. It is no longer running down the same alley in Underpass or Scrapyard, it is now jumping over trucks and small one story buildings in every map. It is now sliding into cover or around buildings to survive and kill your attacker. It is now not what Call of Duty was raised on. It is a completely new Call of Duty franchise focused on one thing and one thing only: individuality.

Leave a comment